The **Moramus Award** is the Foundation's most prestigious recognition. It was initiated in 1961 to honor scholars and others whose activities and achievements have resulted in outstanding contributions to American Moravian music and have furthered the work of the MMF, or have had a positive influence upon the goals and stature of the MMF. Possible recipients, rather than being sought out, have exhibited beyond any doubt their qualifications for this award.

- Nominations for the Moramus Award shall be presented to the Nominations and Awards Team at least six
 weeks prior to a regular meeting of the Board of Trustees. Nomination materials shall include a vita,
 especially listing professional or volunteer accomplishments and recognitions, and a list of specific reasons for
 the nomination with particular activities which have favorably influenced and furthered the work of the MMF.
- 2. The Nominations and Awards Team shall consider any nominations and must approve by a two-thirds vote to recommend nominee(s) to the Board of Trustees.
- 3. The Board of Trustees shall receive full information on the nominee(s) before the subsequent board meeting and shall vote by secret ballot. Absentee ballots may be accepted by the beginning of the Board meeting. Approval shall be by a two-thirds vote of the full Board of Trustees.

Moramus Award recipients are:

Irving Lowens	1980	Karl Kroeger	2006	James V. Salzwedel
Hans T. David	1981	Margaret Leinbach	2006	Richard M.
G.Wallace		Kolb		Henderson
Woodworth	1982	Allen Spach Goslen	2007	J. Michael Allsen
Lily Peter	1983	Lee Shields	2012	Jill B. Bruckart
Donald M. McCorkle		Butterfield	2013	David Blum
Thor Johnson	1990	Rev. Henry	2013	John V. Sinclair
Clarence T. Leinbach		Williams	2014	C. Daniel Crews
Helen Copenhaver		J. Robert King	2016	Dirk French
Hanes	1994	Richard and Monica	2017	Susan Keck Foster
Marilyn Purnell		Schantz	20	018 Rebecca
Gombosi	1999	David Lewis Crosby		Kleintop Lepore
Dale H. Gramley		Ann B. Manning	2018	Barbara Strauss
Ewald V. Nolte	2001	Ben van den Bosch	2019	Robert Steelman
R. Arthur Spaugh	2003	James and Susan	2019	Jeannine Ingram
Frederick Paul		Bates	2022	Nola Reed Knouse
Stocker	2003	Philip Dunigan	2022	Gwyneth Michel
	Woodworth Lily Peter Donald M. McCorkle Thor Johnson Clarence T. Leinbach Helen Copenhaver Hanes Marilyn Purnell Gombosi Dale H. Gramley Ewald V. Nolte R. Arthur Spaugh Frederick Paul	Hans T. David 1981 G.Wallace Woodworth 1982 Lily Peter 1983 Donald M. McCorkle Thor Johnson 1990 Clarence T. Leinbach Helen Copenhaver Hanes 1994 Marilyn Purnell Gombosi 1999 Dale H. Gramley Ewald V. Nolte 2001 R. Arthur Spaugh 2003 Frederick Paul	Hans T. David G.Wallace Woodworth 1982 Allen Spach Goslen Lily Peter 1983 Lee Shields Donald M. McCorkle Thor Johnson Clarence T. Leinbach Helen Copenhaver Hanes 1994 Richard and Monica Marilyn Purnell Gombosi Dale H. Gramley Ewald V. Nolte R. Arthur Spaugh Frederick Paul Schat Kolb Margaret Leinbach Kolb Nargaret Leinbach Kolb And Spach Goslen 1983 Lee Shields Butterfield Niliams J. Robert King Pavid Lewis Crosby Ann B. Manning Ewald V. Nolte 2001 Ben van den Bosch R. Arthur Spaugh Bates	Hans T. David G.Wallace Woodworth 1982 Allen Spach Goslen 2007 Lily Peter 1983 Lee Shields 2012 Donald M. McCorkle Butterfield 2013 Thor Johnson 1990 Rev. Henry 2013 Clarence T. Leinbach Helen Copenhaver J. Robert King 2016 Hanes 1994 Richard and Monica 2017 Marilyn Purnell Schantz 2008 Gombosi 1999 David Lewis Crosby Dale H. Gramley Ann B. Manning Ewald V. Nolte 2001 Ben van den Bosch 2002 Prederick Paul Bates 2002