MORAVIAN MUSIC FOUNDATION JAMES V. SALZWEDEL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN CHURCH MUSIC

The James V. Salzwedel Award for Excellence in Church Music (established April 2004) focuses on Moravian music at the most immediate level: that of the music life of the congregation.

Music in Moravian worship belongs to all of us. We are all called to raise our hearts and our voices in praise and thanksgiving, and in lament, to our Lord. And we all have reason to be grateful for those who have served as examples, as mentors, to us as musicians in the church. Most of us who are active in music now can name at least one person who has had a significant influence on our lives as Christians and musicians, and many of these influential people seem to go un-noticed in the life of the larger church.

Recognition of musicians who have given excellent and long-lasting service to music and worship in Moravian congregations affirms the vital importance of music in Moravian worship. Accomplished musicians lead the music programs in the congregations, encourage and support congregational song, develop musical skills of all members of a congregation, and guide young people in their musical and spiritual growth. Moravian worship practice for many centuries has included music as an integral part of worship, and thus the musical leaders of a congregation perform a vital ministry in partnership with the ordained clergy.

The award was named, with his permission, after one who has long been an example of faithful service, of commitment to musical excellence and Christian obedience – Brother James V. Salzwedel. Recipients of the James V. Salzwedel Award will show significant contributions to the musical life of the congregation(s) they have served, over an extended period of time.

While most will hold positions such as choir director, organist, or band director within a congregation (or be retired from such a position), it is possible that a volunteer member of a congregation's music program may have made such a significant contribution to that congregation's musical life that the award is clearly merited.

The Rev. James V. Salzwedel (b. 1936) is a native of Fargo, North Dakota. He earned the Bachelor of Music from Concordia College, the Master of Divinity from Moravian Theological Seminary, and a Master of Music from the University of Kentucky. He has served as Pastor of Christ Moravian Church in Winston-Salem; Assoc. Minister of Music and Organist at Home Moravian Church; as founder and director of the Hussite Bell Ringers. An accomplished organist, he has presented premieres of works by Austin Lovelace, Wilbur Held, and Margaret Sandresky. His service playing is marked by sensitivity, expressiveness, and a careful attention to congregational singing. He served on the board of the American Guild of English Handbell Ringers for 12 years and was president for 2 years. He was a trustee of the Moravian Music Foundation from 1983 to 1987, and President in 1986.

Recipients of the James V. Salzwedel Award:

- 2004 Jerry V. Jones, Clemmons Douglas G. Kimel, Home, Calvary, Fairview
- 2005 G. Randall Gibbs, Dover First Johnnie Hauser, New Philadelphia (NC)
- 2006 N. Denny Fordham, Jr., Calvary Drake Flynt, King
- 2007 Rachel Belter, Bethel Bill Hutchins, Home Robert A. Conrad, Olivet
- 2008 Beulah Clewell Shook Richard P. Saunders
- 2009 Hubert Fort, Raleigh
- 2010 G. Van Krause, Advent (NC)
- 2011 Donald Benedett Mary Hege
- 2012 Richard Jones Jeannie Rothrock, Christ Allen S. Goslen, Home Joe Conrad, Bethania
- 2013 Phyllis Ronald, Sharon Mary Fairbairn, Christ Community Church, Maple Grove, MN Jimmie Snyder, Friedberg
- 2014 Ben Fishel, Advent (W-S) Sam & Lillian (posth.) Fort, Trinity Raymond Ebert, Friedland
- 2015 Nancy Marie Manuel, Fairview Jeff Whitsett, Grace
- 2016 Dale Balzer, Unionville, MI

Robert Clark, Oak Grove Charles Krites, Advent (W-S) Jeanne Serfas, Nazareth, PA

- 2017 Donald Armitage, Winston-Salem, Nola Reed Knouse, MMF, Home Donna K. Rothrock, Trinity
- 2018 Donna Ambler, Advent (PA) Gwyneth Michel, MMF, College Hill Jan Harke, Palmer Nancy Sawtelle, Friedland James Basta, Unity
- 2019 William A. Hall, King, (Bethania, Mayodan, Fairview)
 Richard Miller, Central
 Keith Weatherman, Hope (NC)
 Martha Cox Popichak, Emmaus (College Hill)
 Gerald Jenkins II, Lake Mills
 Joyce Sainato, Sharon
- 2020 Elaine Sizemore, Moravia
- 2021 Pearl Radloff, Goshen